Soldering Workshop

Hey all

There’s been some interested in a soldering workshop, so I thought I’d arrange something. I’ll cover through hole and surface mount - assembly, soldering and re-work techniques will be covered for both types of soldering. If anyone wants to do just one or the other, that’s fine!

Once we have an idea of numbers I’ll be ordering some soldering practice kits so we can build things that actually do something interesting*, then will run a doodle poll and get some dates.

We only have so much equipment, so if anyone has their own (decent) soldering station please let me know if we can borrow it for the day!

*donations to cover these would be welcome but not required. I’ll be getting something like these for SMD and some of these for through hole.

Thanks!
Joe

1 Like

I’m interested - but be warned… I am a total novice :smile:. Julie Bint

Def interested. Have cheapish temp controlled station I can bring.

Never done any surface mount so would also be interested

Yes please. I’ve done a fair bit of soldering/desoldering but it’d be nice to get some different perspectives and more practice can never hurt :wink:

I’d be interested in the surface mount soldering. I have a decentish temperature controlled iron I could bring to use.

Always need excuses to practice my through-hole! Can bring another of the maplin blue temp-controlled soldering irons…

Yes please, complete beginner with no equipment. Thanks

I’m in! My soldering is generally horrible, even though I’m reasonably experinced with through-hole.

Im up for that. I have a shit temperature solder station i can use

Count me in too. My soldering is awful too.

Nick.

Hey folks, any thoughts on holding this on June 21st ? (Third Thursday) … I’m intending to make third-thursday be the talks+workshops day…

Jess

Thursday is good for me :slight_smile:

Thursday 22nd is good for me

Oops, date updated… Thurs is the 21st June not the 22nd…